Hawaii News Now earns 19 Emmy nominations and 5 regional Murrow Awards


HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) — Hawaii News Now won five regional Edward R. Murrow Awards this week and received 19 Emmy nominations for its on-air and online content.

the Edward R. Murrow Award honor outstanding achievement in broadcast and digital journalism.

HNN has been recognized for:

HNN was also honored with 19 Emmy Award nominations for:

  • day diary
    • “First to 4: March Floods,” -Anthony Ferreira, Jennifer Wong (producer); Mark Carpenter, Ashley Nagaoka (anchors); Ben Gutierrez (weather presenter)
    • “It’s Now: Halemaumau Breaks Out,” – Ashley Nagaoka and Jonathan Saupe (producers/presenters)
  • evening newspaper
    • “Hawaii News Now at 6: Haleiwa Flood Aftermath,” – Anthony Ferreira, Linda Kawachi (Producers); Mahealani Richardson (Anchor/Reporter); Ben Gutierrez (weather presenter)
  • hard news report
    • “On the Front Line: No Rest for Honolulu EMS”, – Allyson Blair (Reporter) and Jonathan Suyat (Photojournalist)
  • Continuous coverage
    • “Contaminated water crisis”, Jonathan Saupe (Producer/Reporter); Christina Jedra, Mahealani Richardson (journalists; Jonathan Suyat), Peter Tang (photographer)
  • Business/Consumer
    • “Hawaii Strong” – Mark Carpenter (news anchor); Joseph Burruso, Jonathan Suyat (photographers)
  • Health/Medicine
    • “First responders, outreach workers struggle to adapt to Hawaii’s evolving drug crisis,”– Lynn Kawano (Reporter) and Peter Tang, (Photographer/Editor)
  • Politics/Government
    • “Divide the rights of producers”, – Allyson Blair (investigative journalist) and Jonathan Suyat (videographer)
  • Weather Anchor Talent
    • “Dynamic Island Weather” – Jennifer Robbins (meteorologist)
  • Program Host/Moderator/Correspondent
    • “McKenna Maduli Host Composite”, – McKenna Maduli (Host)
  • Video journalist
    • “Solina’s Solo Stories” – Samie Solina (Video Journalist)
  • Way of life
    • “Goodwill becomes glamorous! Home Edition,” – McKenna Maduli (producer); Kelley Cho, Mary Beth McClelland (field producers); Joseph Kirstine, (director/photographer); Troy Gomes, Zak Covert (photographers); Aaron Katagiri (Graphic designer)
    • “Back to Nature” – Robert Parks Valletta (Producer); Samuel Potter (Producer/Host)
  • Historical/Cultural
    • “Celebration of Queen Liliuokalani Keiki Hula”, – Katie Pickman (producer); Guy Murashige Sibilla (producer/screenwriter); Wendy Suite (producer/screenwriter); Kainoa Carlson (host); Lacy Deniz (Host); Keoni Fernandez (director/cinematographer/editor); Makayla Fernandez (Camera/Steadicam)
    • “Hawai’i Fashion Showcase: Mauka to Makai – A Tribute to Merrie Monarch,” Lehua Watson (producer); Lani Walters (producer/director); Noel Ross (producer/director/writer); Lacy Deniz (Host); Christopher Cabotage (cinematographer/editor); Jordyn Paa (Cinematography/2nd Editor); Isaac Moreno and Jennifer Wright (music directors)
  • Public Affairs Program
    • “Matt Levi investigates ‘HPD behind the badge’ – Matt Levi (Producer); Scott Culbertson (director) Michael Yasutake (cinematographer/editor)
  • Children/youth/adolescents
    • “The HI method: food waste” – Eric Johnson (producer); Serina Dunham, Hermenigildo Tesoro, Jr. (co-creators); Mattea Mazzella (Composer)
  • Diversity/Equity/Inclusion
    • “The HI method: stronger together”, – Eric Johnson (Producer); Serina Dunham, Annie Cusick, Reiko Ho, Hermenigildo Tesoro, Jr. (co-creators); Mattea Mazzella (Composer)
  • Overall Excellence/Topical Excellence
    • Katie Pickman (General Manager) and Scott Humber (News Director)

The Emmy gala will take place on June 11 in San Francisco.

Copyright 2022 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.


About Author

Comments are closed.